Schools in nine Sarawak districts closed due to haze


KUCHING, Sept 10 – Schools in nine districts in Sarawak have been ordered to close due to the worsening haze as at 6 pm yesterday.

State deputy education director Abang Mat Ali Abang Masagus said the districts were Kuching, Samarahan, Padawan, Serian, Sri Aman, Betong, Bau, Lundu and Lubok Antu.

However, he said the Ujian Pencapaian Sekolah Rendah would go on as scheduled.

Meanwhile, the State Education Department in a statement said 409 schools were closed today, including 62 secondary schools and 347 primary schools, involving 157,479 students.

A total of 87 of these schools were in Kuching, Padawan (101), Betong (53), Sri Aman (41), Bau (44), Lubok Antu (30), Samarahan (three), Serian (20) and Lundu (30).




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.